Australia Day: City of Yarra

I rise to acknowledge six citizens of my electorate who were honoured in the Australia Day awards for distinguished service to the community and three outstanding individuals who were honoured in the 2012 City of Yarra Australia Day awards. Caroline Hogg, a former member of this Parliament and a resident of Clifton Hill, was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for services to this place, particularly in the areas of multiculturalism, health, education, arts, rural affairs and also mental health. Associate Professor Renate Howe, a long-time North Fitzroy resident, was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for services to the arts and higher education. Also receiving an AM were Professor Peter McPhee of Abbotsford and Ian Renard of North Fitzroy, and Colin Benjamin of North Fitzroy received a Medal of the Order of Australia.

Professor McPhee received the award for services to tertiary service administration and the discipline of history, Mr Renard for services to the tertiary education sector and Mr Benjamin for services to the community through social welfare organisations such as the iconic Life. Be in it organisation. Mr Alan Rhodes of Richmond received an Australian Fire Service Medal for services to the Country Fire Authority.

Bich Ha was named the City of Yarra Woman of the Year. Bich has made a 25-year commitment to North Yarra Community Health and of course to the broader community of my electorate. Other residents to receive awards were a young African gentleman, Makot Wol, as Yarra Young Citizen of the Year. Glenda Lindsay was named Citizen of the Year for Yarra for her magnificent work with cultivating communities.